Posted by: thisiskv | May 30, 2012

Why am leaving Namibia and the limitless voyage…

 The Call to Adventure
The call to adventure is the point in a person’s life when they are first given notice that everything is going to change, whether they know it or not.

I was 9 years old, standing across the river in Rundu as the sun was setting and looking beyond Angola and wondering where America was because I wanted to live there one day. The time was about 16:47 so I had to run home before my dad got back from work to find me doing my homework.

During dinner time, my mind was thinking of all the adventures I could have that I began playing with my food. The look on mother’s face wanted to say You shouldn’t waste your food when there are children in Africa starving but she couldn’t say that cause we were living in Africa so instead she said “Stop it and eat your food”.

Refusal/Acceptance of the Call
Often when the call is given, the future hero refuses to heed it. This may be from a sense of duty or obligation, fear, insecurity, a sense of inadequacy, or any of a range of reasons that work to hold the person in his or her current circumstances.

When I think of travelling, it’s somehow related to the excitement of running into someone from your hometown on the other side of the world. You might have ignored him back home or dismissed him with a “what’s up dude” and walk away but now we’ll be flung into each other’s arms by the power of meeting unexpectedly far from home.

My home is beautiful and I have fond memories of her.  I’m thinking of the jokes we shared together and all the times people went protesting and striking. Toy-toying and marching are deeply rooted in South Africa and Namibia’s national identity. I got more holidays from students or employees going on strikes than the national holidays combined! Maybe if you tune in to SABC you can still watch the strike going on in Jo burg. This is what makes home memorable for me.

Not forgetting where I am from. I am packing my bag and going on the long-dreamed-of  adventure.  There is a poem by Konstantinos Petrou Kavafis that best describes how I feel :

Keep [Rundu] always in your mind.
Arriving there is what you’re destined for.
But don’t hurry the journey at all.
Better if it lasts for years,
so you’re old by the time you reach the island,
wealthy with all you’ve gained on the way,
not expecting [Rundu] to make you rich.

[Rundu] gave you the marvelous journey.
Without her you wouldn’t have set out.
She has nothing left to give you now.
And if you find her poor, [Rundu] won’t have fooled you.
Wise as you will have become, so full of experience,
and this is the meaning of [Rundu].

Supernatural Aid
Once the hero has committed to the quest, consciously or unconsciously, his or her guide and helper appears, or becomes known.

The places that look attractive to me now are Austria, Argentina, Germany and Thailand. But the mountain looks big and I have to raise 600 Euros to climb it. By God’s grace I should be able to pay back or raise this amount and be debt free again.

I take it literal when people say “life is a journey and what matters most is the way we travel and not to where we are heading to!”  I will be writing articles about the different cultures and my experience while teaching at a Language school. If you’re interested in reading more about my travel blogs or would like to support me, contact me and find out more about my plan.

When Annika explained to me where Austria is, this is where I thought it was 🙂

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Soo inspiring!! 🙂

    • Why thank you :). I’ll be following your adventures! Have an amazing time in Australia.


Leave a Reply

Categories

